What should you know about getting a DWI in Missouri?

You and your friends went out for a night on the town to celebrate turning 21. Like most young people, you went out with a designated driver who ended up partaking in the activities and being unable to drive you home.

Of everyone, you felt you'd had the least to drink and that you were the most likely to drive safely. Unfortunately, you were not as sober as you believed, and you were stopped by a police officer on the way home. Now, you're facing a DWI.

Missouri is tough on drunk drivers

It should go without saying, but the authorities are becoming more strict with drunk driving. Once your blood alcohol content (BAC) reaches .08%, the officer needs no further evidence to arrest you and for a DWI charge to lead to a conviction. This limit is known as the per-se limit.

Anyone who has a BAC of .15% or higher faces enhanced penalties for an aggravated DWI. The minimum jail time for a BAC of .15 to .2% is 48 hours, so if your BAC is that high, you'll be spending a couple days in jail.

Will you lose your license over a DWI in Missouri?

Yes. The State of Missouri automatically suspends the licenses of those convicted of DWIs. A first-time DWI results in a suspension of 90 days. If you select to have an ignition interlock device installed, then you can drive during those 90 days on a restricted license.

If you're accused of a DWI, putting together a defense is a good idea. With one, you may be able to limit these penalties.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Have A Legal Issue To Resolve?

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Email Us For A Response
Kelly,Symonds & Reed LLC
Free Initial Consultation | Se Habla Español

114 SW Third Street
Lee's Summit, MO 64063

Phone: 816-347-1818
Fax: 816-347-1854
Lee's Summit Law Office Map