Based on some high-profile court cases involving sexual offenses, the law on the federal and state levels has changed when it comes to the punishment of sexual offenders. You may have heard of laws such as Megan's Law or The Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act. These laws have helped to shape the registration requirements for such offenders. The state of Missouri has also made special registration requirements for sexual offenders.
According to the Missouri State Highway Patrol, special considerations for sexual offenders may apply only to certain offenders. For example, there are a few restrictions on where a sexual offender may live depending on his or her crime. For example, it is illegal for some offenders to hang out or be within 500 feet of a school when children are present. However, if you have permission from the principal, superintendent or school board, then this may not apply. It is also illegal for some offenders to live within 1,000 feet of a school or childcare facility.
Some offenders may not be allowed to communicate with anyone under the age of 18. It is also common to have the restriction to not be able to act as a coach or trainer for children's athletic teams.
Finally, there are special requirements for sex offenders on Halloween. You cannot leave your outside light on during the evening of trick or treat in your neighborhood. You also must put up a sign saying you are not offering candy or treats. You must stay inside between the hours of 5:00 p.m. and 10:30 p.m., and you must avoid all contact with the children who are trick or treating. This information is for education and is not legal advice.