Any sexual offense accusations you might face in Missouri have the potential to result in long-lasting consequences. You might find that a conviction of a sex crime could even persist to trouble you for your whole life. These kinds of convictions also tend to have an effect on civil procedure, a topic you may find discussed in more detail in a subsequent blog article on this site.
In terms of immediate consequences, there are many different classes of felonies in Missouri law. Each of these could come with a specific set of minimum and maximum penalties. Please read on for a brief discussion of these penalties and a discussion of how a sex-related offense charge could fall into the various categories.
As outlined on FindLaw, penalties for sex convictions have four felony classes and one misdemeanor class. Factors that increase severity include violence, minor victims and intensity of the act. Any of these five classes of convictions could require jail time, and you could pay a fine for some of them. Specifically, here are the consequences you might face for a single count, listed from least to most severe:
- Up to 1 year in jail and up to a $1,000 fine
- Up to 4 years and up to $5,000
- 7 years or less in prison and $5,000 or less in fines
- A minimum of 5 and maximum of 15 years in prison with no fine
- No fine and between 10 to 30 years in prison, or life, depending on the circumstances
Law enforcement agencies would also likely place your information into a national database as the result of a conviction. This would be a consequence in and of itself, as it would allow people to search for your name and see your sex crime record. However, every case is different. Please do not regard this as legal advice. It is only meant as background educational information.