If you or someone you know in Missouri has been arrested for and charged with a sex crime, you will no doubt want to learn as much as you can about the charges and any potential consequences associated with a conviction should that happen. One of the penalties of a conviction for a crime of a sexual nature may well be the requirement to register as a sex offender. This program has recently undergone some important changes.
As explained by Missourinet, before August of this year, the state’s sex offender registry program had a one-size-fits-all approach. This means that all people convicted of any type of sex crime were treated exactly the same as each other. A person convicted of indecent exposure in public would be forced to register as a sex offender for life just like an adult convicted of raping multiple young children.
Thanks to a new law, there are now three tiers of registry required based on the severity of the person’s offense. Level 1 offenses are the least severe and require annual updates. After 10 years, a person with a level 1 offense may request removal from the registry. Level 2 offenses require updates twice a year. These people may request removal from the registry after 25 years. Level 3 offenses are the most severe and require quarterly updates. A level 3 offense mandates lifetime registration.
This information is not intended to provide legal advice but is instead meant to give people who live in Missouri and who have been charged with sex crimes an overview of the changes made recently to the state’s sex offender registry program.